Hey Santa, Won’t you Bring me Something Sweet…

A Christmas Tradition for me and my sister while growing up was to help my Mom bake “Christmas cookies”.   Although these included several different kinds of cookies, to me, there was only one type of true Christmas cookie…the anise cookies.

You see, these were the cut-out cookies which were so much fun to make and so delicious.  The very special thing about these particular cookies was that they were the ones which Santa would eat.  I can remember carefully decorating the cookies I chose for Santa…the cookies I spent extra time in decorating and carefully placed the many sprinkles and colorful icing.

I decided to  start this cookie-making tradition with Clare this year.  Once we finally found the anise extract (after going to 3 different stores) we were ready to give it a try.   We have only two Christmas cookie-cutter shapes but Clare happily chose to use her Halloween cookie-cutters as well.   Her favorite part of baking the cookies was tossing the flour on the counter (and the kitchen floor, and her clothes etc…).  😉

After making cookies for the first tray to go in the oven, my helper was ready to quit.  We’ll see if she can have the patience to bake these cookies next year.  In the meantime…’Mommy’ had fun making them (and testing the homemade icing)!  😉

Cookie Cutter Clare

Ta Da! A Christmas Star in the perfect shape.

Carefully Cutting out the Cookie Shapes

Carefully Cutting out Circle Shaped Cookies

My Little Baking Assistant

My Little Baking Assistant (covered in flour)!

Christmas Cookies

The Finished Product...Cookies for Christmas

Which cookie for Santa?  Clare chose a big snowman shaped cookie.  We put in the freezer so “it wouldn’t get old” (in Clare-speak) before Christmas arrived.   😉

Merry Christmas to all!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

