A Big Day

Today was Clare’s annual well visit at the Pediatrician’s office.  We all know that what that means …booster shots!

Clare really does enjoy going to the “Cough Doctor” as she calls him, much more so than the “Needle Doctor” (AKA the Allergist).  Well, after today, I’m wondering if she’ll have a different name for the “Cough Doctor”.

We hyped this day up for Clare.  She went to bed last night wondering if she would weigh in at 38 pounds as she stepped on the scale (“the scale with the Elmo sticker on it!”).  We read the book “The Bernstein Bears Go to the Doctor” so Clare could see how well sister Bear did with her booster shot.

Clare was quite happy as we arrived at the Pediatricians.  The scale she was asked to use this time had Thomas stickers on it…we love Thomas the Train.  She kept watching the numbers edge just slightly above 37 and finally stop at 37.2 pounds.  No jump for joy as she would have had it hit the big 38 mark, but all was just fine.

They checked her eyesight and hearing which she liked a lot.  Then, once in the exam room, the nurse gave Clare a little paper sheet with teddy bears on it to cover herself up in.  That hit home with me how grown up she is getting!

The doctor came in and while talking about the booster shots which Clare would be getting, he made the comment about how this visit is usually tough for 4 year olds.  Keep in mind that for her 3 year shots, she didn’t cry at all.  Then as the doctor was looking over Clare’s info, an unpromising look came across his face as he realized Clare would need to get 5 shots.  Note to self…this may result in an unhappy child.

I held Clare down on the table while the nurse jabbed those little legs with the shots.  Our big girl yelled and cried SO hard.  Of course I could not stop the tears from rolling down my cheeks as I was holding her down.  The nurse made a comment under her breath about Clare being a strong one.   Once the shots were done, thankfully, Clare stopped crying immediately.  Shew!

The three of us went about our day.  I dropped Clare off at school before Robert and I both headed back to work.  As I was working, around 4:00, I got a picture message of Clare eating a gingerbread cookie.  I knew exactly where she was…Sweet Loralee’s Bakery at the Factory!  Which meant she probably had been to the Jumpin’ Bean.  A huge smile was instantly on my face.  Robert left the office early to pick up Clare (yes, Clare has the coolest Daddy!!) and took her to one of her favorite spots to spend a couple hours with Daddy.  Why?  “Because she had a big day.”

 

A treat with Daddy after a big day

A Treat with Daddy

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “A Big Day”

  1. Erin Says:

    I seem to recall a day at the doctor’s office when I was helping Mommy and the nurses hold down YOUR legs for your booster shots! Seems like the apple didn’t fall far from the tree after all. I am glad she recovered nicely 🙂

  2. Elizabeth Humphries Says:

    I remember those 4 yr. old appts. so well. I was always mad at the nurse for making ME hold down MY child while they poked and made them cry. Ben asked me that day why I helped her hurt him. OMG! I, too, cried. Anyway, so glad Clare’s day ended on a great note…she truly does have a wonderful daddy (and mommy for that matter…doing the hard stuff!). 🙂 Love you all!

  3. Nana Says:

    Oh my gosh, I cried all the way through this to the very end!

Leave a Reply

